Search  Search
Font Size:     Small text Medium text Large text   email pageemail pageprint pageprint page

NJR Steering Committee

The NJR Steering Committee is a NHS England Committee of Experts and is responsible for the work and progress of the NJR.

Mrs Laurel Powers-Freeling has been Chair for the committee since 1 April 2011. Mrs Powers-Freeling has significant experience on both commercial and charity boards, as well as an understanding of joint replacement as a patient.

Mr Martyn Porter is the NJR Medical Director and Vice Chairman, appointed from 1 February 2014.  Mr Porter is a consultant orthopaedic surgeon, Past President of the BOA and Past President of the International Society of Arthroplasty Registers (ISAR). 

The committee’s responsibilities include:

  • Setting the NJR’s work programme and monitoring its progress
  • Providing advice to orthopaedic units, hospitals and implant suppliers where the information shows concerns about the performance of certain prostheses
  • Setting the cost of the levy, based on the contractual costs of running the registry and the work programme agreed
  • Providing an annual report to Ministers on the performance of the NJR and, following agreement, to make publicly available
  • Establishing and monitoring codes of conduct for the contractor dealing with orthopaedic units within NHS trusts and independent healthcare providers, as well as the orthopaedic implant industry
  • Facilitating, where appropriate, the use of the NJR data for research purposes

Members and representatives

The Steering Committee oversees the NJR’s activities and is made up of members and representatives from a range of stakeholder groups. Members of the committee currently are:



Membership start date

Membership expiry date

Chair of NJR Sub-committees

Laurel Powers-Freeling



31/03/2018 (reappointed from 1 April 2015)


Mr Martyn Porter

NJR Medical Director and Vice Chairman



Medical Advisory, Data Quality, Editorial Board

Prof. Amar Rangan

Orthopaedic surgical profession



Mr Peter Howard Orthopaedic surgical profession
27/05/2014 26/05/2017 Surgeon Outlier, Implant Performance
Orthopaedic surgical profession

Nicholas Wishart

Orthopaedic implant suppliers

06/11/2013 05/11/2017  
Michael Green
Orthopaedic implant suppliers
06/11/2013 05/11/2017  
Prof. Mark Wilkinson Public health and epidemiology 01/02/2014 31/01/2018 Research


Practitioner with special interest in orthopaedics

Rob Hurd
NHS Trust management
06/05/2014 05/05/2017  

Gillian Coward

Patient representative



Sue Musson

Patient representative

03/10/2011 01/10/2017 (reappointed January 2017)

Mr David Macdonald

Independent healthcare sector




Co-opted members:

  • Mr Matthew Porteous: Chair, Regional Clinical Coordinators Sub-committee
  • Mr Hussain Kazi: Co-opted orthopaedic surgeon
  • Mr Ian Winson: President, British Orthopaedic Association
  • Prof. Tim Briggs: National Director for Clinical Quality and Efficiency and Lead, Getting It Right First Time
  • Mr Robin Rice: Welsh Government


  • Andy Smallwood: NHS Supply Chain
  • Khalid Razak: Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency
  • To be announced: Northern Ireland DHSSPS
  • Representatives: Healthcare Quality Improvement Partnership (HQIP)
  • Representatives: NJR Contractors (Northgate Public Services and University of Bristol)

Dates of meetings in 2017

  • Wednesday, 26th April 2017, 10:30am-4:30pm
  • Tuesday, 18th July 2017, 10:30am-4:30pm
  • Friday, 13th October 2017, 10:30am-4:30pm

Copyright © 2008 - 2017 National Joint Registry Terms and conditions Privacy policy Login